The Complete Inheritance Cycle Book List: Descriptions and Details

Do you love reading as much as we do? If so, then you’ll be excited to hear about this epic book series: The Inheritance Cycle. This 4-book series tells the story of a young man named Eragon who becomes a dragon rider and fights against an evil king. If you’re looking for an exciting read that will keep you on the edge of your seat, look no further than The Inheritance Cycle. In this article, we will list every book in the series and give you their description.

Nerd Night News will also shed some light on the burning question, will there be a 5th book in the inheritance cycle?

Inheritance Cycle Book 1: Eragon


  • Age Range: 11+
  • Page Count: 528
  • Release Date: June 25th, 2003

When fifteen-year-old Eragon finds a polished blue stone in the forest, he thinks it is the lucky discovery of a poor farm boy. But when the stone brings a dragon hatchling, Eragon soon realizes he has stumbled upon a legacy nearly as old as the Empire itself.

Overnight his simple life is shattered, and, gifted with only an ancient sword, a loyal dragon, and sage advice from an old storyteller, Eragon is soon swept into a dangerous tapestry of magic, glory, and power. Now his choices could save—or destroy—the Empire.

Inheritance Cycle Book 2: Eldest


  • Age Range: 9+
  • Page Count: 704
  • Release Date: January 1st, 2005

Darkness falls…despair abounds…evil reigns…

Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, have just saved the rebel state from destruction by the mighty forces of King Galbatorix. Now Eragon must travel to Ellésmera, land of the elves, for further training in the skills of the Dragon Rider: magic and swordsmanship. But chaos and betrayal plague him at every turn, and nothing is what it seems. Before long, Eragon doesn’t know whom he can trust.

Will the king’s dark hand strangle all resistance? Eragon may not escape with even his life. . . .

Inheritance Cycle Book 3: Brisingr


  • Age Range: 11+
  • Page Count: 763
  • Release Date: September 20th, 2008

Oaths sworn . . . loyalties tested . . . forces collide. 

Eragon is the greatest hope to rid the land of tyranny. Can this once simple farm boy unite the rebel forces and defeat the king? Following the colossal battle against the Empire’s warriors, Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, have narrowly escaped with their lives. Still, there is more adventure at hand for the Rider and his dragon, as Eragon finds himself bound by a tangle of promises he may not be able to keep.

When unrest claims the rebels and danger strikes from every corner, Eragon must make choices-choices that will take him across the Empire and beyond, choices that may lead to unimagined sacrifice.

Inheritance Cycle Book 4: Inheritance


  • Age Range: 10+
  • Page Count: 860
  • Release Date: November 8th, 2011

Not so very long ago, Eragon—Shadeslayer, Dragon Rider—was nothing more than a poor farm boy, and his dragon, Saphira, only a blue stone in the forest. Now the fate of an entire civilization rests on their shoulders.

Long months of training and battle have brought victories and hope, but they have also brought heartbreaking loss. And still, the real battle lies ahead: they must defeat Galbatorix. There will be no second chances. The Rider and his dragon have come further than anyone dared to hope. But can they topple the evil king and restore justice to Alagaësia? And if so, at what cost?

The Fork, the Witch and the Worm

Bonus Book: The Fork, the Witch, and the Worm

  • Age Range: 12-15
  • Page Count: 288
  • Release Date: December 31st, 2018

A wanderer and a cursed child. Spells and magic. And dragons, of course. Welcome back to the world of Alagaësia.

It’s been a year since Eragon departed Alagaësia in search of the perfect home to train a new generation of Dragon Riders. When a vision from the Eldunarí, unexpected visitors, and an exciting Urgal legend surface, Eragon is faced with a much-needed distraction that may lead to a new perspective.

This volume features three original stories set in Alagaësia, interspersed with scenes from Eragon’s own unfolding adventure. Included is an excerpt from the memoir of the unforgettable witch and fortune-teller Angela the herbalist . . . penned by Angela Paolini, the inspiration for the character, herself!

Will there be a 5th book in the inheritance cycle?

Christopher Paolini began writing Eragon at age fifteen and self-published it in 2002. Since then, the Inheritance Cycle has become an international phenomenon, selling over 35 million copies and being translated into nearly 50 languages. When he finished writing the fourth book in the series, Paolini stated that while he could “think of stories to tell set in Alagaësia”, he felt that “the story of Eragon and Saphira has been told, and it is time to move on”.

Paolini has since backtracked that statement and has made it known that he will write a book 5, but it might not be the 5th book in the inheritance cycle you would expect.

According to

“Book 5 will be a standalone novel set in Alagaësia. Eragon, Saphira, and Nasuada will not return as main characters. Instead, the series will follow new/unnamed characters. However, Christopher still sees the book as a continuation of the same story, being heavily influenced by the events of the Cycle.

The entire book is already plotted out and has been since the conclusion of the Cycle. The fifth book isn’t the only story has planned for the world of Alagaësia! In addition to “The Fork, the Witch, and the Worm,” Christopher has shared a desire to write prequels, sequels, and stand-alone books, all found on on a dedicated page here.”

This is exciting news for fans of Eragon! We can’t wait to see what Paolini has in store for us next.


The Inheritance Cycle is a fantastic series that has something for everyone. If you haven’t read it yet, I highly recommend you do.

No more excuses. You can get Eragon free on Audible right here.

If you have read all 4 books, what is your favorite? What would you like to see Book 5 be about? Let us know in the comments below!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *