Amazing Arc of a Scythe Series: Guide

If you’re looking for a good book series to read, then you should definitely check out the Arc of a Scythe. This series is written by Neal Shusterman and it’s one of the best YA books series out there. In this article, we will show you every Scythe book in order and give a brief description on each one without diving into major spoilers. We hope that this article will help you decide if Scythe is the right book series for you!

Author Neal Shusterman

About the Author

“In a perfect world, death must be perfect too. So who decides who lives and dies…the Scythe”.

Neal Shusterman

Who is Neal Shusterman? A young adult who grew up in the Bronx, who wound up moving to Mexico and now resides in Southern California as an adult. Neal Shusterman is the author of the beloved Arc of Scythe Trilogy.

The author of Scythe began his writing career during high-school. His english-teacher offered him extra credit if he would turn a story in per month. By the time the school year was complete, Neal felt like an actual author.

Now Neal is a New York Times best-selling author of over thirty different novels. Many of which, including Scythe, are now in development for television and cinematic adaptations.

Setting of Scythe

Imagine a world with no hunger, no strife, no wanting or ailments of any kind. Picture a world where no-one ever dies, unless by the hand of a Scythe.

Scythe’s carryout death in their own way, following a certain code of conduct, in-order to control the population growth of the world.


Book One: Scythe

  • Page Count: 448
  • Release Date: November 22nd, 2016

Citra and Rowan are chosen to apprentice to a scythe—a role that neither wants. These teens must master the “art” of taking life, knowing that the consequence of failure could mean losing their own.


Book Two: Thunderhead

  • Page Count: 512
  • Release Date: January 9th, 2018

A year has passed since Rowan had gone off grid. Since then, he has become an urban legend, a vigilante snuffing out corrupt scythes in a trial by fire. His story is told in whispers across the continent.As Scythe Anastasia, Citra gleans with compassion and openly challenges the ideals of the “new order.” But when her life is threatened and her methods questioned, it becomes clear that not everyone is open to the change.Will the Thunderhead intervene?Or will it simply watch as this perfect world begins to unravel?

The Toll

Book Three: The Toll

  • Page Count: 640
  • Release Date: November 5th, 2019

Citra and Rowan have disappeared. Endura is gone. It seems like nothing stands between Scythe Goddard and absolute dominion over the world scythedom. With the silence of the Thunderhead and the reverberations of the Great Resonance still shaking the earth to its core, the question remains: Is there anyone left who can stop him?

Gleanings: Stories from the Arc of a Scythe

Bonus Book: Gleanings: Stories from the Arc of a Scythe

  • Page Count: 432
  • Release Date: November 8th, 2022

There are still countless tales of the Scythedom to tell. Centuries passed between the Thunderhead cradling humanity and Scythe Goddard trying to turn it upside down. For years humans lived in a world without hunger, disease, or death with Scythes as the living instruments of population control. Neal Shusterman—along with collaborators David Yoon, Jarrod Shusterman, Sofía Lapuente, Michael H. Payne, Michelle Knowlden, and Joelle Shusterman—returns to the world throughout the timeline of the Arc of a Scythe series. Discover secrets and histories of characters you’ve followed for three volumes and meet new heroes, new foes, and some figures in between. Gleanings shows just how expansive, terrifying, and thrilling the world that began with the Printz Honor–winning Scythe truly is.


Arc of a Scythe – Conclusion

Overall Arc of a Scythe is a terrifying and gripping YA series that will have you on the edge of your seat. It is a story of morality, love, loss, and what it means to be human. The world that Neal Shusterman has created is both beautiful and nightmarish, and readers will be eager to return to it again and again.

Have you read the best selling series Arc of a Scythe? What did you think? Let us know in the comments below!

Check out more book series here!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *